Several CRHS players named to All-Cardinal Conference basketball team

By Paul Adkins Sports Editor

April 6, 2014

Several Chapmanville Regional High School boys and girls basketball players were named to the All-Cardinal Conference Basketball Team, which was released on Friday.

Making the first team for the boys were Chapmanville’s Josh Butcher and Kenny Plumley.

The two players led the Tigers to their first-ever trip to the Class AA state tournament last month as Chapmanville lost 63-34 in the opening round to eventual state champion Bluefield.

Trey Dalton of Chapmanville was named to the second team while Brady Cox was honorable mention all-conference.

On the girls’ side, Chapmanville Regional’s Kristin DesRocher was on the first team and Abby Marcum on the second team. Hillary Hainer and Shian Meeks were honorable mention. The four led the Lady Tigers to the Class AA regional championship game this season where CRHS lost at Sissonville.

On the first team boys’ squad were: Matt Justice, Noah Toops and Tommy Parrish of Herbert Hoover; Dalton Hatfield of Mingo Central; Matt Chandler, Noah Frampton, Luke Frampton and Elijah Cufee of state tourney bound Poca; Cody Brown and Eric May of Scott; Kaleb Sturgill of Tolsia; and Grant Ferguson of Wayne.

Also on the second-team all-Cardinal boys’ team were: Stevie Hammond and Malie May of Mingo Central; Anthony Sigmon, Logan Webb and Kirk Price of Scott; Blake Newhouse and Chance Brown of Sissonville; Tyler Stroud of Tolsia; and Brett Justice of Wayne.

The other honorable mention all-conference selections were: Julius Hatcher of Mingo Central; Cam Cottrill of Poca; Blake Roberts, Brandon Ward and Nathan Adkins of Tolsia; and Alex Elkins, Nathaniel Earl and Tucker Watts of Wayne.

Other than DesRocher, the all-league first-team picks were: Hannah King of Herbert Hoover; Ashley Curry and Hannah Church of Mingo Central; Casey Skeens of Poca; Maddie Weeks and Landon McKinney of Scott; Madison Jones, Karli Pinkerton and Brittany Gould of state tourney team Sissonville; and Savannh Winnett of Tolsia.

Other than Chapmanville’s Marcum, the remaining second-team all-conference selections were: Hannah Schoolcraft, Bailey Aab and Bethany Romine of Herbert Hoover; McKenzie Ball and Kendal Sayre of Poca; Brooke Reed of Sissonville; Jordan Presley of Tolsia; and Emily Marsh of Wayne.

Also named honorable mention for the girls were: Caroline Thornburg of Herbert Hoover; Caitlin Cantrell, Tyshira Joplin and Kiera Hammond of Mingo Central; Tasha Nichols and Kerrie Lahoda of Tolsia; and Taylor Bartram of Wayne.

The all-conference teams were voted on by the league’s eight boys and eight girls coaches.