Early voting begins today

Karissa Blackburn kblackburn@civitasmedia.com

April 30, 2014

The 10 day Early Voting period for the 2014 Primary Election begins today, April 30, and lasts through May 10.

The Logan County Courthouse will be open for early voting Mon.- Fri. from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. with an hour lunch break from noon-1 p.m. and on Saturdays from 9 a.m-5 p.m. with no lunch break. The early voting period includes two Saturdays – May 3 and May 10 – and excludes one Sunday – May 4.

Early voting has been a popular option for Logan Countians since its implementation for the 2002 Primary. In the 2012 election, 1,927 votes were cast during the early voting period.

“Between work, homework, and running the kids to dance and sports practice, West Virginians are busy, and early voting lets them make voting work with their schedules,” Secretary of State Natalie E. Tennant, West Virginia’s chief elections officer, said.

“The importance of the Early Voting period was highlighted during the 2012 General Election, when we had a weather emergency force the relocation of several polling places. You never know the circumstances, personal or otherwise, that may arise on Election Day. I ask all of the registered voters in West Virginia, if you are near your courthouse or courthouse annex on one of the Early Voting days, stop in and cast your ballot. It only takes a few minutes for you to make your voice heard by voting.”

Voters who are not registered with any political party in West Virginia – often called “No Party” or “unaffiliated” – may choose to vote in any party’s primary or a non-partisan ballot only which include races such as Board of Education, Conservation Supervisor, and any county levies.

However, a voter registered with a political party must vote in that party’s primary election or choose to vote a non-partisan ballot.

Secretary Tennant wishes to remind voters that any violation of election law should be reported to the Secretary of State’s Office at 304-558-6000.

Primary Election Day in West Virginia is Tuesday, May 13. Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.