Essential reporting in volatile times.

Not a Subscriber yet? Click here to take advantage of All access digital limited time offer $8.99 for your first 3 months.

Interested in Donating? Click #ISupportLocal for more information on supporting local journalism.

20200108-log-logan girls roundup peyton ilderton for two

Logan High School’s Peyton Ilderton (20) glides in for a layup in the Lady Cats’ 70-36 win over Scott on Friday, Jan. 3, at Logan.

Logan High School sophomore Peyton Ilderton was voted Class AA Second-Team All-State to lead the county selections.

Chapmanville Regional High School seniors Ali Williamson and Graci Brumfield were Honorable Mention All-State. Logan junior Jill Tothe was also Honorable Mention All-

Ilderton, a 5-6 guard, averaged 21.2 points a game this season and was fourth in scoring in the Cardinal Conference.

Tothe, a 5-7 guard and top 3-point shooter, averaged 10.2 points a game this season.

Williamson, a 5-10 guard, averaged 14 points per contest this season for the Lady Tigers and ranked ninth in the league in that category.

Brumfield, a 5-5 guard, checked in at 13.1 points a game this season.

Mingo Central’s Ziah Rhodes was also on the Second Team. Miners’ teammate Scarlett Thomason was Honorable Mention.

n n n

The Class AA Girls All-State Basketball Team as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

First Team

Baylee Goins, Nitro, Jr: (Captain)

Marley Washenitz, Fairmont Senior, Soph.

Taylor Buonamici, North Marion; Sr.

ZZ Russell, Winfield; Sr.

Laken McKinney, PikeView; Sr.

Victoria Sturm, Lincoln; Jr.

Skylar Davidson, Wyoming East; Jr.

Allison Dunbar, Herbert Hoover; Sr.

Second Team

Jocelyn Abraham, Braxton County; Sr. (Captain)

Allison Rockwell, Lincoln; Sr.

Makenna Douthitt, Frankfort; Sr.

Jaisah Smith, Bluefield; Sr.

Lauren Hudson, Winfield; Sr.

Peyton Ilderton, Logan; Soph.

Ziah Rhodes, Mingo Central; Sr.

Karlie Denham, North Marion; Jr.

Third Team

Rianna Kenneda, Westside; Sr. (Captain)

Paige Humble, Bridgeport; Jr.

Meredith Maier, Grafton; Soph.

Alanna Eves, Wayne; Jr.

Emily Hudson, Winfield; Sr.

Katlyn Carson, North Marion; Soph.

Kristen Calhoun, River View; Sr.

Gabby Reep, Bridgeport; Fr.

Honorable Mention

Shiloh Bailey, PikeView; Kierra Bartholow, East Fairmont; Hannah Blankenship, Wyoming East; Graci Brumfield, Chapmanville; Taylor Brown, Nicholas County; Averi Carpenter, Philip Barbour; Haley Carroll, Nitro; Emma Cayton, Lewis County; Avery Childers, Robert C. Byrd; Kaili Crowl, Keyser; Sydney Farmer, Sissonville; Alyssa Hill, Philip Barbour; Madison Holland, Elkins; Mackenzie Holley, Independence; Sara Hooks, Wayne; Bria Jacobs, Grafton; Rebekah Jenkins, Fairmont Senior; Marcayla King, Oak Hill; Olivia Krinov, Lewis County; Kayla Lantz, Petersburg; Demi Lester, River View; Madi Martin, Lincoln; Carly McComas, Lincoln County; Mara McGrew, Winfield; Sophia Mikula, Weir; Macie Miller, Frankfort; Makayla Morgan, Westside; Shea Miller, Scott; Devin Ord, Poca; Maria Perdew, Frankfort; Kacey Poe, Shady Spring; Taylor Ray, Herbert Hoover; Kierra Richmond, Shady Spring; Peyton Smith, Braxton County; Emily Starn, Fairmont Senior; Somer Stover, East Fairmont; Daisha Summers, Wyoming East; Mackenzie Tennant, East Fairmont; Scarlett Thomason, Mingo Central; Olivia Toland, North Marion; Hannah Toler, Westside; Jill Tothe, Logan; Brynne Williams, Lincoln; Ali Williamson, Chapmanville; Madie Wilson, Bridgeport

Paul Adkins is the Sports Editor of the Logan Banner. Follow him on Twitter at @PAdkinsBanner or email him at